We Need to Talk About The Lesbian Flag

Hey guys, gals and non binary pals! Welcome to another blog post.

Okay, listen up lesbians, because this has gone on too long.

I’m not trying to start a fight, I’m not trying to be melodramatic (yeah right), but we have to talk about this.

There has been a post circulating my various social media, and I need to address this so we can all get back to our very busy lives.

Now, the creator of the lesbian flag, who has a blog called The Lesbian Life, has recently been under fire for racist, butchphobic, biphobic and ableist comments or her blog and Twitter.

At first, I thought that this was just a part of the outrage culture that seems to be happening more and more. So, I did more research. Here is the post that brought this issue to light:

The original post

Upon reading this, I was still unsatisfied. While her comments weren’t very nice, I didn’t think they were deserving of all the outrage that I had seen. So I went looking for the original blog.

Here’s the response on The Lesbian Life entitled “Lydia is Cancelled”

The Response

Now while her response was pretty childish and not extremely cohesive, It did support my thinking that this was all about outrage culture.

However, when I sat down to write this post, I did a little bit more research.

The Tumblr account

There’s an entire Tumblr account dedicated to exposing The Lesbian Life and trying to create a new flag for the lesbian community. This is when it became clear to me that The Lesbian Life is not someone we want representing the Lesbian Community.

On this Tumblr page, there’s a poll that they’re going to send (the results) to companies that sell pride flags so that the new lesbian flag can be produced before pride next year.

The Poll

So, now that’s over, we can all get back to living our lesbian lives. Hopefully, a new inclusive flag will be chosen soon, so far there have been a lot of issues with the new flags. I hope you all get involved and take the survey.

Have a wonderful week and I’ll see you next time!

Leave a comment